top of page

Getting To Know Your Doula

Some Q & A with Birth Doula Beth Fessenden.

What do you do at B. Birth Services?

I’m a birth doula, licensed massage therapist, and placenta encapsulator. That’s right, I said placenta! I also help manage our social media presence, handle client questions/concerns, and brainstorm for new ideas for our business in networking and event coordinating. Phew! That’s a lot!

Where did you grow up?

The thriving metropolis of Findlay, Ohio ;)

Where do you live currently?

In the very small town of Portage, Ohio which is a few miles south of Bowling Green.

Who makes up your family?

Myself, my amazing husband Alex, our adorable daughter Evelyn, Monster (Shih Tzu) and Ogre (St. Bernard)- yes, we’re “those dog people”, and 2 very attention starved (not really so much, but they think so) catsWalter and Ilsa.

Favorite books?

I have so many favorites but my most favorite is Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen

Favorite magazines?

I have to admit that I am not a big fan of magazines, and I really don’t have a specific reason why!

Where will we find you on weekends?

When I am not working hard helping mama’s have babies or giving others relaxing massages, I am with my husband and daughter, usually on our “little farm” working on my garden or playing outside with the dogs.

Favorite food?

Pickles, apples, and pizza. (But not all at once, or in that order).

Favorite drink?

Black coffee, and dry red wine

Why do you do birth work?

To ensure women and their partners have the support they deserve during one of the most important events of their lives.

Favorite moment during birth?

Witnessing the raw emotion and instincts that come out of both woman and partner. It is so amazing.

Favorite moment postpartum?

The look the parents give their babies, the love in their eyes. Their love fills and warms the room. It’s a blessing to be able to witness.

What’s the most important thing in your life?

My family.

Tell us something about you that might surprise us.

I love bluegrass music and have been playing the banjo for the past 8 years.

Education and training?

I am always reading and discussing the latest news in the field. My educational background is a great mixture of mental and physical health training:

  • 2006- BA Psychology, The University of Findlay

  • 2008- BS Biomedical Science, National University of Health Sciences

  • 2010- License Massage Therapy by State Medical Board of Ohio

  • 2015- toLabor birth Doula training

  • 2015- Placenta Encapsulation training, PBiU

  • 2015- Spinning Babies certification


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page